Gibson Brands Forums

J-45 Mahogany vs. Rosewood

robroper

Greetings,

I've got a Martin D-16 that I've been playing for 14 years, and I love it, but I'm looking to get a second acoustic. I'm thinking the J-45, because I want this guitar to sound different from the Martin. I've played the Mahogany J-45 in a store, and like it, but haven't found a Rosewood model to try. I know it's difficult to put the sound of an instrument in words, but having said that, how would you compare the sound of the Rosewood J-45 to the Mahogany? Keep in mind, I'm looking for a guitar that will be the opposite sound-wise from the Martin.

I guess I should say that my playing style is all over the place, from finger picking to loud rock&roll bashing, from standard tuning to DADGAD. I'm thinking, after I buy the J-45, keeping it in standard tuning for strumming, and keeping the Martin in DADGAD. But who knows...

Happy pickin' y'all,

Rob

Check out a Hog J45 with Red Spruce top if you can - True Vintage model, and there are probably others... They're not all over the place, but they're out there.

(What's the construction of the Martin? i'm not very familiar with them all..)

The D16 is Mahogany, right?

I would say the Hog '45 will be similar to your D16, just a bit less bassy and more forthright in the mids. However, the RW is a different beast altogether...big, plush, wet, resonant tone but with a strong emphasis on fundamentals when chording, and a big fat chime when fingerpicking. They are unlike any other guitar I have ever heard-not drenched with overtonic shimmer, but very resonant and reverberant in tone, with a noticeable tuck-in at the top end which makes for a very warm guitar with bell-like highs...not a trashy top end as sometimes found in the occasional Mahogany gitbox.

I say find a RW 45, play it and, if it speaks to you, let it follow you home.

Great, great guitars.