Gibson Brands Forums

Who records at home with a computer and how are you......

bigtim

OK fellow forum members I need a little help. I have been recording on and off for several years with a friend in his home studio. It is a very nice system and he can do some really in depth stuff with it. It is not Pro Tools but is Nuendo I believe. Anyways, when we first started recording, we set the mic. right in front of the guitar amps speaker and it went directly into a small interface. My sound was awesome and the whole project turned out great. Since then he has had a major upgrade into his recording system set up and on the recordings I have done with other clients, my guitar plugged in through a guitar pre amp multi effects processor by Boss then into his new upgraded interface and that all worked great for his clients. Now that I am wanting to do some more original stuff of my own, we could not get a good sound just miking the amp like we used to do. So with that said, I see there are some kind of direct boxes that one could use that goes between the amp and speaker cabinet and then it has a jack that you can run to your interface. Do any of you have one and record this way? I have the perfect studio amp but the problem is, it does not have a direct out on the rear of it.