Gibson Brands Forums

High pickup on Riviera P93 -- looking for feedback (pardon the pun)

Apostata

Hi all,

I have a 2nd hand Riviera P93 and it's come to my attention (via my guitar instructor who has made some adjustments to it -- the previous owner liked his action high and his string gauge heavy) that the bridge pickup is a little high -- as in the spacer connecting the pickup to the guitar top is too thick. Can anyone who has a P93 tell me if this looks odd? One of the reasons for the concern is that the (low) E-string is buzzing on the pickup and the pickup screw can't be adjusted any lower.

I'm a newb, so I don't mind hand-holding in order to understand what's going on.

49168894738_499395be6a_c.jpg

pickup.jpg

The bridge actually looks a bit low- if that's where it's set for high action, then the neck angle must be off.  The simplest fix here is to simply take out the spacer and sand it down a wee bit- probably only need to take off  1/16" to stop the buzzing.   Don't worry about sanding it down too much, because you can always adjust the pickup upward.  

• Like 1

7 minutes ago, Yorgle said:

The bridge actually looks a bit low- if that's where it's set for high action, then the neck angle must be off.  The simplest fix here is to simply take out the spacer and sand it down a wee bit- probably only need to take off  1/16" to stop the buzzing.   Don't worry about sanding it down too much, because you can always adjust the pickup upward.  

Thanks for the suggestion, re: sanding. Question:  aside from raising the strings, what effect, positive or negative would raising the bridge have on tone or playability?

2 hours ago, Apostata said:

Thanks for the suggestion, re: sanding. Question:  aside from raising the strings, what effect, positive or negative would raising the bridge have on tone or playability?

Would be a change in both regards + and -..