Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson L-48 trying to date

Shibooyah

I’m trying to date my Gibson L-48 I believe it’s somewhere in between 1947 -1959 . It has a natural finish, not the sunburst model. The serial number on the inside only reads “3636”. It does not have any other serial numbers printed, something might have faded away over time. Apparently the peg head number is 4543. I’m no expert at dating these old Guitars and was wondering if someone might have some info for me.  Thanks 

A 3636 FON stamped on the inside would probably be 1950. When you say "peg head number is 4543", what exactly do you mean? Is this number embossed in the top of the back of the peghead, or what? 4543 would also be a 1950 FON, by the way.

• 1 year later...

When Gibson got a pre-1961 guitar in for repairs they stamped a number into the back of the headstock.  Also certain Gibsons did have two numbers - an FON on the neck block or visible through the F-hole and a different serial number designating it an "Artist" model.  While I am not sure when Gibson started doing this, my wife's 1960 J200 has a label with a different number than what appears on the neck block and which designating it an "Artist" model.   As far as I know, however, the Artist serial number was only assigned to high end instruments which the L48 was not.  My wife's guitar, which was sent to Kalamazoo at some point for repairs, has the serial number on the label stamped into the back of the headstock but oddly with the last two digits switched around.  I always assumed it was not a separate number but Gibson just not paying attention   If you suspect the guitar was repaired though one of the things to look for is parts which do not match up.  When Gibson repaired a guitar they did not use repro parts but whatever they happened to be using at the time.  So pickguards, tailpieces, tuners and what have you may not be what was used when the guitar was originally built.   

2 hours ago, slimt said: