Gibson Brands Forums

Advanced Jumbo = Hyundai Sonata

rhythmdoctor

Much like a Hyundai Sonata, which is pound for pound the best value Sedan on the car market right now (the Sonata is every bit as good, perhaps better, than a Camry or Accord at a much lower cost) - the Gibson Advanced Jumbo is still undervalued in the guitar world relative to other dreads (Martin, Collings). I have been an AJ owner now for 5 years and I'm still surprised that the 'majority' haven't 'caught on' yet. I mean, people who have played them understand the amazing balance and tone but they are still behind the 'perception' curve compared to Martins - and really, they are much better in every way. Fantastic bass but still a balanced tone throughout. The AJ is consistent too - unlike various Martins I have played while shopping around, I don't think I have played an undesirable AJ yet.

Anyways, I'm a newbie to this board but I love my AJ and wanted to pronounce it to the forum as my first thread. Here are some pics for you other AJ lovers:

AJ pic 1

Me playing my AJ

My AJ cake my wife had made for our wedding

Cake pic 2

Let me guess' date=' you sell what... for a living?[/quote']

What makes you think I sell anything? I'm currently getting ready to buy a Sonata and realized the similarities to my AJ - great product that is relatively unknown.

Anyways, howdy all you fellow AJ lovers - they are fantastic guitars aren't they? BTW, mines the best:-"

How dare you have the same guitar strap' date=' then me! I have always tought i was unique!!! snif snif...

Michel Marc

A J185 lover.

And HW1 fender strat lover.

Welcome to the forum[/quote']

It is a great strap, isn't it?

What's an AJ-185? Never heard of that. BTW, my AJ is a 2003 I think.

Great cake. As a fellow AJ owner, I can also say great guitar.