Gibson Brands Forums

J-200

84Winston19

Hmm

I find myself in an awkward position coming to a board to ask for advice

but I truly am interested in anyones opinion.

After stints in folk bands, with rock undertones I have redefined my sound

I am now a young guitarist gone violinist, and a prolific songwriter.

At 18 I write every idea down into song that is tangential to my life. Not **** either

I am an active performer and play out often

enough about myself

The true question:

I have went from a Gibson Sg into the world of good- find- pawn shop guitars. Now i want to make an investment.

I want a guitar in which the straight finger picking resonates with rich over tones, and when playing the progression GMaj-D7-eMinor-CMaj booms out nostalgic and confident presence.

I have been looking at the SJ 200 Modern Classic for a couple years, but finally have come to the realization that I am a mature enough songwriter to own one.

can anyone think of reasons I shouldn't, or suggest something more fitting

I feel liek it is an investment i will hand to my son with pride, with top wood wear marks and small dings/

Any owners with input?

Is the the songwriters dream that I think it to be?

Thanks

i say you can't go wrong with the SJ-200 - check out a J45 too, you may find yourself liking it a lot. When it comes down to it though, if it's the SJ200 you've been dreaming about then you should go for it. it's a fantastic guitar.

play a bunch and get the one that speaks to you the most.

An Advanced Jumbo would be an excellent choice for fingerpicking the progression you speak of. Be aware that the AJ does not come with electronics though they can be added. But the SJ-200 is a great guitar if thats the sound you want, go for it. A lot of fingerpickers prefer the rosewood body over maple.

However, I own a J-185 which is very similar to the J-200 and I love it.