Gibson Brands Forums

Learning Jazz Guitar

STLBlues

The best jazz guitarists, and players in general, know theory really well. The first step is to understand basic chord structures and the modal scales. Once you get that down you may want to look at this website. It gives a good list of scales to use for a particular chord. Just play the scales with the same kind of phrasing you are currently using in blues/rock and you'll be well on your way...

I come from a rock background and I started learning jazz guitar in around march. It's a lot more difficult than rock and blues. You need to be able to read music well and play many different chords. I started out by learning licks and chords from here: http://www.jazzguitar.be/jazzguitar_lessons.html and I've had a teacher for a few months. It really helped and that's the best advice I have, get a teacher.

That's a useful website rocketman posted. Here's one I use to learn chords and scales: http://jguitar.com/

And also, once you learn chords pretty well, get a "Real Book" and practice the songs a lot.

Okay, here's the grouchy old man...

I don't know what Jazz is. Some folks say I've been playing it since the 1950s on trumpet, guitar maybe only from the mid '70s. Others say, "hey, that ain't jazz guitar because it doesn't sound like Kessel. (Or Pass, or Ellis or...)" Yeah, I've done other stuff. Playing is fun regardless of style.

A problem I have with "jazz guitar" is that expectations of "jazz guitar" so often are variations on the same old bebop concepts of the 40s and 50s.