Gibson Brands Forums

Getting over obsessions

peiplayer

When I started playing acoustic about 5 years ago I agonized over everything. I first bought a Martin and then traded for a Gibson. I worried about scratches and buzzes. I changed strings almost every week trying to find the best sound…I tried mediums then lights, then switched ‘em back again, tried all different makes. I wondered what strings Dylan and Guthrie had used and did my best to find out. I tried out different picks, different straps, constantly adjusted their length. I fiddled with the truss rod, fussing with the action. I cleaned, I polished, and worried about my strumming technique. About the only thing I didn’t worry about were bridge pins! I kept the plastic.

Playing a bit over the holidays I realized I don’t think about any of that anymore. I must be on the verge of being considered an old-timer!

I put new strings on the J200 a few months back, then loaned it to my daughter's boyfriend so he could go play at the local college one night. The strings were, in the traditional sense, ruined because of... well, I dunno, his acidity, dirty hands, whatever... I kept meaning to change the strings but haven't gotten to it. Now they are thick and dull and dead and they sound wonderful. I may not change them for quite a while.

With new strings it sounds like a grand piano, but with old strings it sounds like a J200. Does that make sense?

We spend too much time worrying about details and not enough time playing. And those two activities will fill every minute we allow for music, so the more time we spend on one, the less time we will spend on the other.