Gibson Brands Forums

Pickup swap?

Silenced Fred

When I buy my Sheraton, I will swap outthr pickups. I have played them and aren't that impressed with them. I have been thinking about putting a phat cat in the neck, and a Seymour Duncan sh2 jazz pup in the bridge. I am looking for a very versatile sound. Would this be a good idea?

Any recommendations are welcome

I'd wait until you actually have the guitar and own it for a little while before making a decision. All guitars' date=' even of the same model, differ a bit and what you don't like in one you might like in another.[/quote']

+1 to Rich's comments. Plus, due to the construction of the semi-hollow body, all the changes must be done through the f-holes...a job for experienced hands whenever possible.

I've been playing my Sherrie stock for 12 years now.

I hear you, Californiaman. However, I just think it's potentially a waste of money to buy the pups before the guitar; he might end up liking how the stock ones sound in that particular guitar. If not, he can always buy them later.

Yeah I would say try and play one thru as close a rig as you got at home ............I mean where are you getting

your ide of the sound from? cause any online demo's are suspect in how something actually sounds.

If you don't like the sound the guitar makes why on Earth are you buying it in the first place?

Looks?

Good grief...

No, I want a semi hollowbody, but I don't necessarily care for the pickups. I want a p90, or the jazz pickup in the neck and something else in the bridge, maybe a pearly gates. :-

I like the Sheratons, but the pickups are... meh.

They do the job, but I am looking a mellow tone in the neck, hence the jazz pickup, or maybe a p90 and something a little hotter, hence the pearly gates.

No' date=' I want a semi hollowbody, but I don't necessarily care for the pickups. I want a p90, or the jazz pickup in the neck and something else in the bridge, maybe a pearly gates. [biggrin