Gibson Brands Forums

ES 175 Gibson or Epiphone?

eallenb

OK, I 've got the bug. TO BUY OR NOT TO BUY. That being said I've been reading reviews etc. regarding the ES 175 Gibson and Epiphone. I am not able to test drive either so I am at a disadvantage. It is obvious that the price is a significant difference but, will I get 6 to 7 times the Guitar.

I am not a professional by any means. My mother started teaching me violin and piano around 1960. I have been playing the guitar since around 1968. I love Jazz soooo I finally found a 1946 ish L7 which plays well. I wanted to go electric recently and am trying to make the transition.

OK' date=' I 've got the bug. TO BUY OR NOT TO BUY. That being said I've been reading reviews etc. regarding the ES 175 Gibson and Epiphone. I am not able to test drive either so I am at a disadvantage. It is obvious that the price is a significant difference but, will I get 6 to 7 times the Guitar.[/quote']

The Gibson is better...but only you can determiine if it's worth the difference.

I have several Gibsons, and bought a couple of Epi's for my son and DIL. I was VERY impressed with their quality, (for $300-$350 guitars)

From the major sites I can buy the reissue ES 175 for $499.00. My local Rock Shop will special order one in for $550.00. The local guy obviously does not want to be sitting with excess inventory should I decide it is not right for me and I can not fault him for that. Musicians Friend will give a 45 day trial for anything $1,000.00 and under i.e. Epiphone Es 175. 10 day trial for the Gibson ES 175 of course free shipping to me. If I bring them in I would need to set them up to be fair. Decisions Decisions. Suggestions?

For a man who's had his finger stuck up his nose for the last 56 years or so, Danville Rob makes good scents. LOL_smilie.gif