Gibson Brands Forums

Early 70's LP Deluxe - Authentic?

FunkyMonk

Hey All

Im a Newb here and have a question for some of you experienced Gibson enthusiasts. I have been offered to buy what im told is an early 70's Gibson Les Paul Deluxe. The pics ive posted in the links below - and i was hoping to see if someone here could maybe ( from the limited pics ) tell me if this looks a little fake? or does it show some authenticity to be original.. What is making me ask the question is the truss rod cover while it is only 2 screws, does not look authentic and seem to be attached upside down ? Hoping someone with a keen eye for detail can explain if this is fine or something to be concerned about.

http://i828.photobucket.com/albums/zz207/FunkyMonkk/Gibson.jpg

http://i828.photobucket.com/albums/zz207/FunkyMonkk/Gibson2.jpg

Thoughts ?

Thanks

• 1 month later...

Hello! I don't want to make a judgement, since I am a bit confused too. The Deluxes had a wider headstock than usual (compared to Standard for example) what can be seen on the second picture. The color and the pot knobs also seem to be correct for a Deluxe, but the full-size humbuckers look strange. The Deluxe came with the so-called Epiphone New York mini-humbuckers. The ones which would fit into P-90 pickup cavities. So anyway, if it's a real Deluxe, it's not in original condition anymore. :-s

It looks fake. The body shape is off and the headstock is not a Deluxe

Hello! I have to disagree with You. If You compare the photo of the body with my photos of an original one, You can see the three-piece maple top and the knobs are correct for a Deluxe. Also please refer to the photos of the headstock, they look pretty same. My opinion is: this guitar ain't fake, but not original because of the pickups. Also a very important point of attention is that those Deluxes have voluted headstock-neck joints.

post-16336-044538300 1282816218_thumb.jpg

post-16336-081002400 1282816303_thumb.jpg