Gibson Brands Forums

Have You Ever Forgotten How Good a Guitar Sounds...

zombywoof

I surely did. A few years after I got married, my wife ended up selling her 1990s J-100 and claimed my trusty 1960 J-200 as her own. No problem, I found solace in an old Southerner Jumbo. A few days back I got a gig on really short notice. I am embarrased to say that the only guitars in the house that had fresh strings on them were my National Duolian and the J-200. So I grabbed the J-200 and out the door I went.

Got there and took it out of the case and hit a big old open A7th chord. First thought that came to my head was Lordy, this thing is loud. Then I started playing some bass runs with the side of my thumb and thought to myself, I don't recall this guitar having this much oomph and thump on the low end. Then I started putting it all together and it hit me just how fat sounding this guitar is.

Funny thing is for the past year or so I had been wishing my wife would go find some other guitar to love so I could sell the J-200. What the heck was I thinking.

Hey ZW....

You know better than most....... good ones only keep getting better with age. [cool]

Ain't that the gospel. And they sure don't get any cheaper as the eyars go by. I know I am lucky because these days, I could not never hope to cough up the cash to buy some of the old guitars I own.

Funny thing is for the past year or so I had been wishing my wife would go find some other guitar to love so I could sell the J-200. What the heck was I thinking.

Proving again that women know best! :-k (sorry, I couldn't resist!)

Have You Ever Forgotten How Good a Guitar Sounds...