Gibson Brands Forums

why cant I find any decent shops in my area...

Biff Velvet

Today I went to the local big box retailer, I was looking to buy a vox valvetronix 30 watt amp (to get rid of my Line 6 Spider III...mentioned in a thread I made a lil while back.)

First I ask one guy casually hanging out in the corner if they have any...his response "whatevers there man"

Ive worked retail for about 2 and a half years (it sucks btw lol), his response either tells me he's new, or he doesnt care at all.

So I look for a second guy. He actually takes the time to look it up on the computer, it says they have one in.

However, after some looking around, he couldnt find it. Fair enough, I know sometimes that retail inventory systems in large stores can be inaccurate. When I ask for some help looking for a alternative, he tells me about the fender blues amp (I forget the name) Which of course is twice the price. Now I'm aware that its a very good amp, but Im pretty new to this stuff, and after a bit of homework, the vox is what I wanted. I ask for another option...and he then disappears. I made it painfully obvious I was there to drop money.

Fine. Since Im here with some friends, why not try out a few guitars. I've been mulling over getting the new-ish 84 Gibson Explorer reissue, I'd inquired about it previously about a week ago, and got a vague answer, so I decided to try my luck with the fellow at the counter...he types it in. Then he proceeds to tell me that theyre not in the system, not listed yada-yada. "theyre new so it usually takes a couple of weeks, then we get some in" was my answer. Too bad these came out in late 07. At this point I felt like a fool, so I just had to get outta there.

I only go to this place because the financing plans make it a cinch to buy things, besides that...Im no longer a big fan...sometimes things just dont seem right there.