Gibson Brands Forums

Rewiring my Sheraton II

I am going to rewire my Sheraton II completely and get new pots, switch, and jack. I will also be putting in a new neck pickup. My store said that they would charge $100 but I feel like if I take my time I might be able to do this myself. Can anyone give me a step by step way of doing this with pictures? I need as much information on this as possible as I have never done anything like this before.

well either way' date=' can anyone just show me some references? I probably will pay the $100 just because it is guaranteed to get done right but I just want to know. My grandpa is a master at anything having to do with electronics so I will have some help. [/quote']

You can totally do it yourself if you have the time and patience. Check out my post "Sheraton II rebirth" - I just did exactly what you want to do last week, and I'd never done anything like it before. It's not that hard. As long as you do it carefully and systematically you really won't have a problem.

Zergle just got parts from me, pre wired, for his sheraton. You can look for his thread.

He went with Alpha minis.. and sprague orange drops with independant volume controls and treble bleed caps, shrink tube,

wire, new output jack and a new toggle switch, which I prewired.

The hassle is threading them in. Mojo tone has a tutorial video on youtube showing how it's done.

A hundred bucks is too much.

Look, it's kind of hard.. you have to have patience, but it's doable.

I prewired Zergles, 'cause I do that free when people order the parts. Comes with wiring diagram printed out.

Some people don't.

I'm not supposed to sell in here.. and I'm not trying to, but holy crap, a hundred bucks is twice the cost of the parts prewired...

So.. shop around for parts..

Some guys have put full size pots in.. but they had either later model sheratons with larger f holes, or they had to file away some of the binding in the f hole to get them in.