Gibson Brands Forums

Epi pickup mod question

Whitmore Willy

My oldest grandson wants to put a set of GFS mean 90's in his L.P. special and asked me to help. I have no experience with these but I know some of you have put them in your guitars.

I was under the impression these are single coil pickups. I was also under the impression that single coil pickups normally use 250k pots with .047 caps.

Keeping in mind he only has one vol. and one tone. Should we change the 500k pots and .02 cap? If not, what makes the difference? (And yes, I know the guitar hardly warrents it but it will be a learning experience for both of us.)

Thank you.....Willy

My oldest grandson wants to put a set of GFS mean 90's in his L.P. special and asked me to help. I have no experience with these but I know some of you have put them in your guitars.

I was under the impression these are single coil pickups. I was also under the impression that single coil pickups normally use 250k pots with .047 caps.

Keeping in mind he only has one vol. and one tone. Should we change the 500k pots and .02 cap? If not' date=' what makes the difference? (And yes, I know the guitar hardly warrents it but it will be a learning experience for both of us.)

Thank you.....Willy[/quote']

When I rewired my Sheraton II with new Seymour Duncan pickups, I discovered that Gibson used 500 mega ohm pots with a .022 cap for the bridge pickup and a .047 for the neck. I ended up using more readily available .020 and .050, and I'm happy with the result.

Keeping in mind he only has one vol. and one tone. Should we change the 500k pots and .02 cap? If not' date=' what makes the difference? (And yes, I know the guitar hardly warrents it but it will be a learning experience for both of us.)

Thank you.....Willy[/quote']