Gibson Brands Forums

Music Theroy Question.

AlpineX2

Sorry if i'm asking in the wrong place but I didn't know any other fourms to go to.

I've been learning lot's of chords learning to play for about 6 months now. But I want to learn about chord progression and scales etc... like learning to create music.

http://www.amazon.com/Music-Theory-Guitarists-Everything-Wanted/dp/063406651X/ref=pd_sim_b_1

I saw this book but is there anything else out there, I just want to know all I need to know about guitar theory and creating riffs etc.

Thanks.

Not familiar with that book' date=' but IMO I would check the web first.....lots of FREE info out there. I've found that most books or info on the web pretty much cover the same things....just sugar coated differently.

Here is a good site to start, or get your feet wet any ways....got pleny mo' too.

http://www.zentao.com/guitar/theory/[/quote']

+1 Raf....any of the Berklee video lessons on youtube are very good as well.....and FREE!

Alpine,

I have not read Tom Kolb's book but the reviews show promise. There are many good guitar theory books out there and I have learned something from every one I have ever read. A decent book for learning scales is "Monster Scales and Modes" by David Celentano. In spite of its "trendy" appearance, it covers many of the basic scales in a fairly understandable format. However, it does not cover chord structure.

If you are interested in music theory itself...and then...applying it to the guitar;

Consider this:

Buy an inexpensive keyboard. It doesn't mean you have to become an accomplished keys guy...but...

The keyboard is sooooo much more visual than any other instrument making it easier to understand scale and chord structure. A used Yamaha with full size keys can cost as little as $50 - $100. I've seen used Yamaha psr E403's go for $150.