Gibson Brands Forums

In a nutshell, Class A amp VS. Class AB amp....

Class A has power to all output tubes at same time, AB alternates between. For more info, Wikipedia is your friend. Vox is odd, look it up unless someone else wants to spend time working on answering a post that is simply a topic title with no further info.

Class A has power to all output tubes at same time' date=' AB alternates between. For more info, Wikipedia is your friend. Vox is odd, look it up unless someone else wants to spend time working on answering a post that is simply a topic title with no further info.[/quote']

-StumblinMan, Thx for the nutshell answer and your time...I'am starting to look into this and I'm seeing that this also is a topic that folks have different options on here and there...just thought I'd bounce it off the folks here that know here first....sorry for not being so clear.....

As a guitarist, I couldn't care less about what class my amp is operating in. What I care is that the sounds coming from it inspire me.

As a tinkering/building guitarist, the only part about the operating class of a given amp that interests me is that Class A is extremely inefficient, so I can build a class A amp with a pair or quad of a given output tubes that will put out half, or less than half the power that a similarly equipped class AB amp would.

Today's obsession over amp class is a marketing-driven obsession, imo.

As a guitarist' date=' I couldn't care less about what class my amp is operating in. What I care is that the sounds coming from it inspire me.

As a tinkering/building guitarist, the only part about the operating class of a given amp that interests me is that Class A is extremely inefficient, so I can build a class A amp with a pair or quad of a given output tubes that will put out half, or less than half the power that a similarly equipped class AB amp would.

Today's obsession over amp class is a marketing-driven obsession, imo. [/quote']