Gibson Brands Forums

Firebird (Worn Cherry) & Maestro vibrola

beeflin1281734173

Hi, I got one of the latest Firebirds - the one with the Steinberger tuners - and tried to fit an Allparts Maestro Vibrola. Unfortunately however, the spring was just too soft and wouldn't stay in position - the strings pulled it down too far - so I had to take it off and refit the stop bar. No great loss, because it sounds and plays better and stays in tune better that way anyway. But I was wondering if anyone else has had similar problems - and want to warn anyone thinking of doing a similar mod that it may not work.

Hi beeflin and welcome. Sunny down the southwest today! I was thinking of a Vibrola for my Sheraton, interested to hear of your problem. If the spring is too soft that sounds like a return to dealer; I've no experience with the Vibrola though, is it possible you've not fitted it correctly? There's wiser folk than I here who should be able to help if that's the case.

Hi beeflin and welcome. Sunny down the southwest today! I was thinking of a Vibrola for my Sheraton' date=' interested to hear of your problem. If the spring is too soft that sounds like a return to dealer; I've no experience with the Vibrola though, is it possible you've not fitted it correctly? There's wiser folk than I here who should be able to help if that's the case.

[/quote']

well, i sent photos to the dealer & he said maybe it is the neck angle of the Firebird WC that's the problem, and that he had not had the complaint before. So it remains a mystery. :-)

I dunno, Beef ... the Maestro is essentially just a curved piece of metal that bends when you push down on the bar. No springs or anything ... actually very simple. If string tension is pulling down the trem, it just seems to me that Allparts is using too soft (or thin) a piece of metal for this device!

Any chance of scoring a genuine unit? Believe me, it does work with a Firebird!

SANY0040.jpg

Good luck!

Jim