Gibson Brands Forums

I want a smaller neck radius and other adjustments

GeorgeKeen

Newbie here.

I play on a Epi Les Paul Studio and I think the neck can shed a bit of its radius to make it more comfortable. Does anyone have suggestions that would not ruin the guitar?

I've heard suggestions like using a steel wool or a fine grit sandpaper to slim it down.

Thanks in advance!

I also have an EPI LP Studio, and am happy with

the factory radius. However, the only things I've heard regarding

changing the radius are "Luthier-Level" mods, and involve resanding

the fretboard and a re-fret job. Eeeeeeeee!!!! Not cheap.

You can get radius sanding blocks from StewMac, but those are

for use on an unfretted fretboard, then you install da frets.

That's all I know....

Stewmac link:

http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Fretting_supplies/Leveling/Fretboard_Radius-sanding_Blocks.html

Unless you are VERY experienced in re fretting and have a very complete understanding of the relationship the strings, nut, bridge, and the radius of the fretboard, I would just buy a guitar that feels good to you to start with. Just the fact that you asked the question tells me that this mod is well beyond your skill set.

Newbie here.

I play on a Epi Les Paul Studio and I think the neck can shed a bit of its radius to make it more comfortable. Does anyone have suggestions that would not ruin the guitar?

I've heard suggestions like using a steel wool or a fine grit sandpaper to slim it down.

Thanks in advance!

The radius is the arc of the fretboard' date=' for example a classical guitar has a relatively flat fretboard while electric has a more curved board.

[img']http://www.warmoth.com/Guitar/images/necks/radius_profile1.jpg[/img]