Gibson Brands Forums

Have I been had?

KX36

I'm not very good at looking at pics and deciding if it's a fake.

However, a brand new LP Plus top here in the States would run you about $550.

I think you paid about $350.

So it sure makes me wonder how they could sell it new for that price.

Make sure to do your research before bidding.

Looks like the real deal to me.. I just compared it to pics from reputable dealers. Although, the one difference I did notice is that the scratch plate and pickup surrounds are a different colour to the one on the website I just looked at.. but that was the 'heritage cherry sunburst' and they had an aged effect. I could not find a plain cherry sunburst. It could just be old stock, or B-stock I guess.. Get the serial number before you pay the guy, post it here and somebody will check it out for you.

Why is that one a fake?

Look at what he is selling it for. £199.00! It's brand NEW!

That's about half the price you'd pay for a new one.

That should be a red flag with red flairs shooting out at you.

Look at what he is selling it for. £199.00! It's brand NEW!

That should be a red flag with red flairs shooting out at you.

I don't know if anyone else has noticed' date=' but it's not unusual for the price of an item with 2 days left until the auction ends to be quite a lot lower than the ending price and it's also not unusual for items to start off at £0.99 or $0.99 even though the seller has no intention of it going for that price. So I don't think that on its own is suspicious.

http://shop.ebay.co.uk/jarbjarbnba/m.html?_nkw=&_armrs=1&_from=&_ipg=&_trksid=p3686

What's more suspicious is all the Buy It Now items are being sold for HALF the RRP. and the guy's username is random letters.

At the time, I didn't think about whether it was fake, just whether it was the right guitar for me. [u']I'm so bloody dumb[/u]. I've emailed eBay about it, linking to this post.