Gibson Brands Forums

what radius fret board on les paul custom plus

invasion

was wondering is it a 12" radius on a les paul custom and indeed all les pauls ??

Also should I get a 12" radius sanding beam for my guitar (if it is 12")

or flat one that will do any guitar I want to level ??

I am guessing the radius may help prevent mistakes. Although I was thinking the flat 1"x2" tube should be ok if you just let its own weight do the work it should follow the radius you already have?.

What size do I want for the truss rod nut/bolt

Thanks

Invasion,

In my limited experience all the Epi Les Pauls I have had were 12" radius fretboards.\

They all took a 4 millimeter hex wrench (allen wrench)

Now, as to sanding beams/blocks/files:

As I mentioned in your post about "tools": It is a matter of personal preference.

Now understand that I have only done a half dozen fret levelings myself. I am no expert and others may have

better opinions. I will say that I and others I have done them for have been quite pleased with the outcomes.

So this is my experience:

When I first started I bought a couple 8" and 4" sanding blocks in 12" and 16" radius. After starting I'm glad I did.

I taped off and marked the fret tops. I use the Carlos Santana method.(Got A Black Magic Marker) eusa_whistle.gif

Now here's the rub. (pun intended)

When I started to sand I quickly found that the 12" radius block was not a perfect match with the 12" radius

fretboard. Apparently all 12" radius are not exactly perfect. The block was just a little more concave.

This caused it to start sanding on the outer edges of the frets without contacting the centers.

Had I continued, by the time I would have been leveling the centers the outer edges would have been over sanded.

I immediately switched to the 16" radius to finish the job.

I have used the 16" radius block ever since.

In hindsight, if I were going to do more guitars in the future I would probably buy a flat block or flat

leveling file.