Gibson Brands Forums

DiMarzio Pickups in Les Pauls

DuaLeaD

As some of you know, I am a HUGE Tom Scholz/Boston fan. I wouldn't be playing guitar today if it wasn't for that signature sound and a few epic rock concerts.

I looked into some of his gear (yes, I know it's custom largely) and I saw he uses Super DiMarzio pickups in his 1968 Les Paul Goldtop (his signature guitar).

My Les Paul Supreme is using the Alnico 498T/490R pair which has a sweet, rich, airy sound (could be more due to the guitar and the chambering though I am not an expert).

Can anyone who is familiar with both Alnico and DiMarzio advise me? I was told by the guy at Dietz that DiMarzios were high-gain. I could use any insight you can give me and I'm quite nervous about messing with my Supreme. I may try it on my Epiphone first.

Not all Dimarzio pickups are high output but I'd be will to bet that the one Scholz used is. After a little Googling, it looks like the full name of the pickup is a Super Distortion which, says to me, high output. Keep in mind that most high output pickups tend to have a heavier emphasis on mid and low frequencies so I would imagine it's going to be a bit different than the stock pups in your LP.

Probably a bigger component to his sound is all that outboard gear he used. When I worked in a music store, we had a display of a bunch of Rockman effects plugged into a set of small monitors; if you turned on everything it seemed like no matter what guitar you plugged into the display it came out sounding like Boston.

dimarziio super distortion is ceramic

the norton is a very nice mid-range Pup, and sounds good, the virtial hot PAF, and the PAF clones are very nice

dimarzio is probably the best big time Pup maker compared to gibson, and seymour duncan

I have yet to find a DiMarzio I liked. I'm a SD humbucker and Lace single coil guy.