Gibson Brands Forums

Portable Digital Recorders

BIGBENDS

Hey everybody. I have no experience with these PDR, but I was hoping to try a couple this weekend. I think it's a great tool for on-the-go. I need to capture my ideas before i get distracted. Any of you have a PDR you love and can't live without? Sony? Tascam? Korg? Roland? So many to choose from. All opinions appreciated.

As I already had an iPod I bought a Blue Mikey. It just clips on the end of the iPod and turns it into a pretty decent portable. I haven't tried any others, and I'm not saying it's the best or anything, but if you own an iPod already it's a cheap(er) solution and worth a look. Works for me.

I have Belkin Tune Talk mic for the Ipod. It's great for getting ideas down before they leave your head. And the files are automatically in your Ipod then so you don't have to download them to the computer to load up to your Ipod. Very convienent and user friendly.

• 3 months later...

Hi,

I have the Boss Micro BR, which I bought a couple of years ago.

Here's a link

Boss Micro BR

The unit is incredibly small: it will fit into a shirt pocket, and is only a little too heavy to go walking around with in one's pocket like this (also, of course, you need to protect it).

I have been very impressed by the recording quality. The internal condenser microphone is especially noteworthy - I find that the 'colour' that it adds to my thin sounding voice is fantastic. The built-in reverb is also wonderful (at least to my ears).

The main drawbacks for me are that the unit has a somewhat counter-intuitive menu system (but once one learns it, things go much quicker of course), and the boatload of Boss effects (mostly guitar effects - you can plug a 1/4" jack into the unit). I just dislike Boss effects, that's all.