Gibson Brands Forums

NGD: J-45 standard

livemusic

EDIT: The original song has gone through a major rewrite; a new recording takes place of the original one. Disregard comments below about the recording. Only issue with the new recording is a glitch or two.

=

Over the past few months, I have been upgrading my herd, selling lesser models and buying better models. I have had this J45 for about two weeks. I really love this guitar! After 44 years of banging on geetars, I am new to the Gibson family and I am so impressed!

Here is the first song I have recorded on it. I am curious how this song recording will be accepted. The guitar sounds great to me but the vocal... I am recovering from the flu and I am struggling to sing this song... to stay on pitch and just SING, as I feel terrible and my head is stopped up. Haha, not so good for recording. But, here it is... it sounds SO emotional. And it is a very emotional song. Maybe this is over the top emotional? I wrote it over the past couple of days, somebody died and it really got to me.

I would love to hear comments, I can take it, I am a very "serious" songwriter, used to rejection.

Recorded live on one track, Zoom H4n handheld recorder.

The beyootiful J-45:

http://soundclick.com/share.cfm?id=10407310

I think the J-45 sounds really good!

thank you, Bill. Very heartfelt. Both you and your 45 sound very nice. You ARE a songwriter!

I am interested in your recording set up...a Zoom recorder? Does it have the reverb you're using? What is your room setting like? Are you and your instrument separately miked, or is this just the built in mic?

Bill, i thought was a lovelly song. The J-45 sounded great, very alive with a classic J-45 tone. A little brighter than my SJ I thought. Great playing and picking. I thought your voice got stronger as the song went further, but recovering from the flue i can understand why its not 100%. Probably difficult to utlise the diaphram fully.