Gibson Brands Forums

My First Kit Build **NEW pics up**

Triumph1050

Introducing "Elle"....named for my youngest daughter. This is my first build. I thought I'd share it here. It's a scratch kit from LMI. All the woods and parts came in a flat rectangle box and I went from there. There's some build and finish issues but nothing fatal. I'm a long ways from being a luthier but it was a blast and she sounds great!

I have a whole new respect for my Gibson and various custom builders as far as build quality. It's not easy.

Specs:

Back & Sides - Premium grade East Indian Rosewood

Top - AAA grade Engelmann Spruce

Brace wood - Red Spruce with Martin D-18/28 spec'd scalloped X

Neck - Mahogany, Cumpiano bolt-on

Bridge - Ebony and Bloodwood, custom design

Headstock - Mahogany and Bloodwood

Fretboard - Radiused Ebony

Binding - Maple, red purfling

Pickguard - Snakewood, custom design

Bridge Pins - Tintul with MOP

Tuners - Gotoh with Ebony buttons

Scale - 25.75"

Inlay - Antique MOP dots

Nut - 1 11/16th

Strings - D'addario EJ-17s

Finish - Nitro Lacquer

Pics:

p1010039h.jpg

p1010035r.jpg

p1010047fx.jpg

Decal buried in lacquer(dont laugh cant afford inlay)

p1010041m.jpg

Still waiting on wet-sanding

p1010052i.jpg

Nice job - and a good looking dread.

So how much did the kit cost?

And how long did it take you to finish?

The kit was about $450 for mine but I upgraded to premium woods and better tuners. AA wood which is fine, would make the kit cost less. I also added an additional $100-$150 worth of some veneers, Ebony buttons, and other odds and ends. Yeah, I have about $600 in it and for that coin I could have got a Recording King or similar. Something moderately decent. But the build was fun and if done right, with these materials it should sound as nice as one costing much more. It has the same parts as higher end guitars its all up to the builder to make the most of it.