Gibson Brands Forums

are you cross lateral

Guest Farnsbarns

Guest Farnsbarns Wunterslausche

I will start this thread by saying loud and clear that I do not believe I am an especially good guitarist, you've heard me play, I am a mediocre amateur at best. But, would I be worse, or better, if my brain was wired up "correctly"?

Let's start by defining "cross lateral".

Most people are right handed, right footed, right eyed and in the context of controlling their body (motor funtion), left brained.

A lesser number are left handed, left footed, left eyed and, again, in the context of motor functions, right brained.

A very small number, my self included, are neither, they have various odd mixes of the above. I am left eyed, left brained, right handed and ambidextrous in my feet.

So, my left brain is performing the motor funtions of my right hand, that's normal, but it is also recieving far more visual data than is normal because I am left eyed, ie my left eye does the seeing and my right deals with all the stereoscopic stuff such as depth perseption. It is also doing all the motor function stuff with BOTH of my feet (because I am ambidextrous footed), not an issue in terms of guitar playing? Well I play standing up so there is all the balancing to be done, heat, touch and all that.

Now, how does this impact the guitar player? I often ask my self. Is my left brain overloaded? Perhaps this leaves my right brain loads of processing power in the creative aspect? Perhaps there is an advantage in that my left eye, which abnormally does the looking, can comunicate with my left hand better than normal, despite me being right handed? Would that bennefit the guitar player being that the left hand of a right handed guitarist actualy does the more dexterous job?

I have wondered about all this for a long time and have never found any good information, even out side of the guitar player model.

A couple of BTWs...