Gibson Brands Forums

Cheapest Way to Ship a Guitar?

Draco

Can anyone tell me what's the cheapest way to ship a guitar? The last time I sold one and shipped, it cost me $75+ (IIRC) through UPS. Is there a cheaper way....maybe through USPS or Fed Ex?

Can anyone tell me what's the cheapest way to ship a guitar? The last time I sold one and shipped, it cost me $75+ (IIRC) through UPS. Is there a cheaper way....maybe through USPS or Fed Ex?

I'm no shipping expert, but I've shipped maybe a dozen or so guitars over the years.

You have to watch the total dimensions of the box, (H X L X D), if you go over UPS's limit, you start getting hit with more charges.

If you have the original box, even an acoustic with a case, I suspect the charges will be within reason.

That sounds very reasonable. Was it an electric or acoustic that you shipped for that price?

The last one I shipped for $75 through UPS was an electric with a HSC. It was a bit heavy but,

I never expected to pay that much to ship here in the lower 48.

I really wanted to reply broken up in little pieces to save the UPS man the work, but I have never had a broken guitar delivered so it would not be nice. I am sure it would be cheaper in a smaller box though.

The last time I shipped a guitar it was around $100 for a cased Ovation inside a box and with light "stuff" holding the case in the box. It wasn't light, and that was a half dozen years ago.

When I got it back, somebody at UPS had managed to jam a about a 3/4 inch "something" through the box and packing and a good quarter inch into the case. The guitar was okay, there was just a slight breakage of the outer plastic on the case along with the dent - although you could see the hole in the box - but I didn't holler to UPS. Like, what were they going to do, give me a case that fit less well 'cuz I doubt there's even a current case available for a mid 1970s Country Artist?