Gibson Brands Forums

Flying V for Blues

Texasbluezman

A lot of people think the 496R/500T combo found in most stock V's & Explorers are too hot and brittle.

If you want to play with hot pickups, especially this set, I've found that sometimes having the selector in the middle position, the tone almost all the way up, and rolling off the front volume a bit for more treble/bite, takes off that hot pickup harshness but keeps harmonics, etc. that hot pickups are known for.

Also, your amp choice and how you use it are a key component in getting the tone you want.

Thanks guys! I have been wanting to get a LP Trad, but it's really hard to save $1500 to $2000, so I was looking for a good alternative. And something a little untraditional. My main concern was the stock pickups, but I was looking for something with some growl to them, so I'll just look for one and I can change pickups later. I can solder like there's no tomorrow, so that's not a problem. BTW, I'm a welder by trade, so I'm already a MMMM.(Master of Manipulating Molten Metal) I have a Am. Deluxe Strat for those cleans, so the V sounds like a good choice for what I'm looking for. Plus sometimes I'm in a metal mood and the V just screams early Metallica. Thanks again, and I'll post some pics when I have my NGD.

Does the V have good sustain? I would think they would, since it's mahogany. I played one years ago, way before my ear knew what to listen for, so I just can't remember what they sounded like, tone wise.

Also I've seen Joe Bonamassa playing one. He can make any guitar scream!