Gibson Brands Forums

Noob Needs Assistance

j-dub

hi and thanks for your time.

first, apologies if this thread or its likes has been beaten like a dead horse.

i am a noob, not only here with all of you, but in guitars as a whole. i am relearning and it is going well, far better than it did when i was 15 years old...but thats another story.

so since i am picking this up, albeit at a snails pace, i am thinking of a reward for myself down the road if this takes. i am currently learning on a loaned fender esquire and amp.

To The Point.

i am looking at the epi black beauty, and the cream and black bullseye as the reward. other than cosmetic, is there a profound difference in the way these two models produce sounds. 3 pickup vs 2 pickup, pickup type, nut size etc etc.

basically, opinions is all i am after, if you have one, it is appreciated.

thanks, and i hope this ain't a dupe.

Welcome [thumbup]

The big difference is pickups

The Black Beauty has 3 Classic Pickups which produce a clearer sound

Where as the Zak Wydde uses EMG's which provide more bite.

Apart from that the hardware is quite similiar to each other...

May I ask where this is going to be precured from?

this is along the lines of information requested. i have heard/read a fair bit about emg's, actually the esquire i am learning with now has two of them. what of nut sizes, the bullseye has a 1 11/16 where as the b/beauty has a 1.68, does nut size effect the playability, my fingers resemble sausages lol.

when i eventually part with my money, it will be left with a reputable store long and mcquade are pretty big up here, as is steve's music store.

thanks again, i appreciate your time.

1 11/16 = 1.6875

They are the same width.

[blink] alrighty then. i did say i was a noob didn't i. does that mean that all nuts are standardized to this size, i thought there were various nut sizes (assumption), and how, or does, nut size effect play?