Gibson Brands Forums

Carvin hollow body guitars

Kenny V

First off, I own Three Gibson guitars, two Les Pauls and one ES135. I think they are all great guitars and my LP Standard is my favorite. Please don't think I am a trader or trying to bad rap Gibson and drum up business for another guitar company. Truth is I own a total of 8 American made guitars from various makers. I recently visited the Carvin Guitar website and was impressed with one of their new models, the Frank Gambale FG1 semi-hollow carved top guitar. I know the resale value of Carvin's is no where near as strong as a used Gibson or Fender. I am not really looking for resale value on this guitar. It seems the only guitars I buy that I end up selling are the lower priced foreign made ones, and I am not knocking them. Has anyone on the forum ever purchased a Carvin guitar and what did they think their quality and playability? Also did anyone who ever owned one had to contact Carvin because of a problem and if so was it resolved to your satisfaction. I have very high opinion regarding Gibson's customer service. I am reluctant to purchase a guitar that costs 2K without playing it first, but they have a very liberal return policy.

Thanks,

Kenny V

I purchased my Legacy amp from Carvin and it died on me the first week. They were very helpful about returning it and shipping another one. I have no experience with their guitars, but assume they would be just as good.

I bought a CT6 a couple of years ago. I had the luxury of having their Santa Ana store nearby so I could touch, feel, etc. Their guys were great in terms of suggestions, no pressure etc. Carvin has a great reputation for customer service, and as for the quality of my guitar, it's on a par with my Gibby's, PRS, etc. Top notch.

047.jpg

A few members here do own Carvins....Their quality is indeed top notch....I own "low end", "mid level", and " some "high end" guitars,