Gibson Brands Forums

Ever seen a Gibson that played itself?

livemusic

I once played a Martin D-41 at a Guitar Center, of all places, that was to die for. At that time, I was broke. Rats. What a fab guitar. I have NEVER played a guitar so easy to play. I thought my former Taylor 310kce was easy to play. Not even close! It was like butter and it was as though my playing improved 20%! I was amazed how I could fly all over that guitar. I have only seen this on one other guitar, a Takamine at a pawn shop! What I am talking about is very low action. The other geometry involved, I really don't know, I'm no expert.

Ever seen a Gibson like this? Do you think a good tech could do this to pretty much any quality guitar or are some just 'special?'

I suppose you MIGHT compromise a bit of tone for this? If so, it might still be worth it, it was just so much fun to play!

Now of course we don't know the exact level of butter this 41 represented, still I think most Gibsons are well measured, have very fine necks and fretboards. Some need a little adjustment, but all in all they are smooth and inciting players. This goes for the vintage department too - I mean, my '63 SJ is cream.

If you search for low action, there might be some tone lost. If it's worth it is all your judgement. I personally think so.

Of course, realize that I have seven Gibsons and a slew of other guitars and NONE of them have anywhere near the playability of that D-41. One of my Gospels is really good and all of them are okay, but that D-41 was on another level. It was that good. Again, very low action.

you think it was the neck shape then? maybe just perfect for your hand ?

anyone know a reason why any acoustic can't have an identical set up to the one next to it ? or in this case a martin ?