Gibson Brands Forums

My teacher was...

Lucky Boy

I was responding to PetPeeves and it made me think of a topic. What was your Guitar Teacher like? Are you self taught?

I can remember Mr and Mrs Guma started teaching me in 6th grade. When we weren't in school, I had to take my nylon string guitar (I had to pause writing that) to Werlein's on Canal St in New Orleans for my lessons. They really impressed me though, they'd put a needle on a record and start playing it on their acoustic and writing the chords on paper. And for someone in 6th grade they blew my mind. After Grammar school, I started taking lessons from Thomas Gibson for a few months, then I went on my own.

And you????

Good Thread Topic Lucky Boy !

I recall Mr. Castaign coming into my 5th-grade class and blowing everyone away with "Tom Sawyer." I was already into guitars at that time, but never really took it seriously until that day. I signed right up for his Saturday classes and away I went. Over the years, my lessons were supplemented by my Uncle Ed (fricking unbelievably talented musician) - the guy has never had a lesson in his life, yet can play ANYTHING ! He truly is amazing.

Once I got my '84 V though, I was all on my own....figuring out the '80's metal riffs that just made playing electric the darn greatest thing to do on the planet. Now, it's just me and my acoustics. Fartin around, learning bits and pieces here and there.

Geez, nostalgia really is something. I can still smell the sweet, soft fragrances of all the spruce and laminate woods that filled the room during those 5th-grade lessons....

Great thread....=D>/