Gibson Brands Forums

Gear question, amp related

daveinspain

Back when the Egnator Rebel 20 came out, a few years ago, I bought one and used it as my at home practice amp. When I started playing in bands Egnator came out with the Rebel 30, 10 more watts, two channels and built in reverb that the 20 didn't have so I bought one to play out. I love the Engnator products, great tone... Anyway, I had my Rebel 20 semi retired, just brought it to gigs as a back up amp. I decided to try something today and it sounds killer! I ran the output of my guitar into my Boss ME 50 FX peddle and the output of that to the input jack of the Rebel 20, then the speaker out of the Rebel 20 into the input jack of the Rebel 30 then from the speaker out of the 30 into the speaker cabinet. Sounds great but I'm not sure if this configuration will blow something out...

Basically I'm using the 20 as a pre-amp but is it ok to plug the speaker out of one amp head into the input of another amp head?

Any thoughts on this?

Basically, NO. It is not safe to run a power amp (speaker) into a preamp.

Can't prove it from here, except to say that the ratings for the output of the one amp far exceed the ratings for the input of the other amp. I don't know of an amp that does.

If it's an out-put from the internal power amp you don't want to do that. Does the smaller amp have a line out? Does your peddle have a muilt? You could just use an unbalanced splitter from the out-put of your last peddle and run one line to each amp.

Basically I'm using the 20 as a pre-amp but is it ok to plug the speaker out of one amp head into the input of another amp head?

No.

Any thoughts on this?

I think you will soon be buying another of each.

rct