Gibson Brands Forums

The right kind of solder

I'm just getting into replacing pickups myself and rewiring the electronics.

When I was at my local hardware store to pick up some things I needed, I just grabbed a random roll of lead-free solder.

But when I get home and look around the web I find a guide to pickup replacement on the Gibson site saying I'd need Rosin-Core solder. The stuff I bought doesn't say anything about being this or not.

Should I go exchange it to make sure I've got the right type?

• 2 weeks later...

ALWAYS use rosin core solder on your electronics, the rosin core is the flux that cleans impurities from the surface of what you're soldering.

Radio Shack carries pretty good rosin core, it has a fairly low melting point so you don't have to over heat the wiring and the controls.

I normally use about a .031" (1/32 inch) diameter solder for use on guitar electronics.

And be sure to "tin" the wires and the places you are soldering them to.

If you google "soldering techniques" you'll find a lot of info on the web.

Here's a couple links:

A PRIMER ON HAND SOLDERING ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS

Better Soldering

How To Solder

And if you've never done any electronics soldering you might want to practice a little on a piece of wire.

• 2 months later...

ALWAYS use rosin core solder on your electronics, the rosin core is the flux that cleans impurities from the surface of what you're soldering.

Radio Shack carries pretty good rosin core, it has a fairly low melting point so you don't have to over heat the wiring and the controls.

I normally use about a .031" (1/32 inch) diameter solder for use on guitar electronics.

And be sure to "tin" the wires and the places you are soldering them to.

If you google "soldering techniques" you'll find a lot of info on the web.

Here's a couple links:

A PRIMER ON HAND SOLDERING ELECTRICAL CONNECTIONS

Better Soldering

How To Solder