Gibson Brands Forums

Bought a Forgery

MJB51

Hi All

Newbie here so thanks for having me!

I like to restore old guitars (mostly parlors) and I recently bought what I thought was a Gibson dreadnought. It had a missing brace and a cracked brace, a few top cracks and no serial number or label. Missing binding on the neck and top. It also has an eye screw in the top of the headpiece for hanging I assume. I should have known better but I thought the cheap price was due to the work it needed. After consulting with some friends on another forum they assured me it was a forgery.

I'm attaching some pics.

Live and learn. [crying]

post-75167-026434600 1448665345_thumb.jpg

post-75167-059956400 1448665365_thumb.jpg

post-75167-046768400 1448665384_thumb.jpg

post-75167-049736100 1448665437_thumb.jpg

post-75167-049412600 1448665462_thumb.jpg

Hi All

I like to restore old guitars (mostly parlors) and I recently bought what I thought was a Gibson dreadnought. It had a missing brace and a cracked brace, a few top cracks and no serial number or label. Missing binding on the neck and top. It also has an eye screw in the top of the headpiece for hanging I assume. I should have known better but I thought the cheap price was due to the work it needed. After consulting with some friends on another forum they assured me it was a forgery.

I'm attaching some pics.

Live and learn. [crying]

I'm sorry to hear this, I hope you didn't spend much for it. That being said...how does it play? sound? is it going in the stable? or out to pasture? Good luck with whatever you do with it.

I only paid $200 for it and it is solid wood top and back. Action is good and it sounded good. Thats part of what fooled me. I thought it had that Gibson dreadnought sound.