Gibson Brands Forums

My WM-00

Grandpa Larry

I've been playing for more than 40 years. My first "good" guitar was a Gibson Blue Ridge which I bought from Bill DeArango's store in Cleveland in 1966 or 1967. Over the years I've owned several other Gibsons, so I think I'm familiar with the Gibson sound and the way they play.

I enjoy finger picking country blues, jug band tunes, and ragtime. The otherwise nice axes I've been playing the past few years weren't doing it for me with that music. What I really wanted was the sound I got from the 60's era J-45 I owned more than twenty years ago, but in a smaller size instrument. I heard about Gibson's WM series a few years ago. They had a pretty good reputation, and I decided to get a WM-00 if one became available. I liked that this model has a wide neck and the Gibson short scale, and I liked the traditional Gibson 00 size and shape.

One turned up on Ebay last year and I bought it.

I was unimpressed when I unpacked it. The looks and finish were pretty plain and the so called rosette was next to non existent. I decided at first to resell it. As soon as I played it, though, my opinion changed.

It plays really well and it has that articulation I associate with Gibson guitars. It does not have the power of my Martin D35, or the pretty overtones of my LoPrinzi folk guitar. Nor do I want that sound for blues or ragtime. Surprisingly, despite the plain appearance it has that Gibson sound I really wanted.

A lot of what we like in an instrument is subjective. Blues pickers have used every make of guitar imaginable. I'd be curious to hear from anyone who has experience with this axe.