Gibson Brands Forums

Medium Strings

Ward

I’ve been playing guitar for 6 months and I have read up on this topic but wanted to get some opinions. While I’ve only been playing (electric and acoustic) for 6 months I’ve put a lot of time into it so not sure if beginner is quite accurate. Anyway, I’ve been experimenting with strings for months and for what its worth I like Elixirs and D’Addario (have not tried Martin yet). I now want to experiment with Medium strings on one of my acoustics – to date I’ve only used Lights. I have a Yamaha FX370C (six months old) and an Epiphone EJ200CE (two months old). I want to experiment with the deeper tone that can achieved with Mediums. And I know Mediums are harder to play when it comes to bending and hammer on’s etc. But I want to try it firsthand. And, I understand Mediums will increase tension. And I would prefer not taking my guitar to a shop for any adjustment – instead make any needed adjustments on my own – and I’ve studied how to make the adjustments. But I also don’t want to damage a guitar. Two questions. Would you recommend adjusting the truss rod before bringing the Medium strings in tune? Or, bring the strings in tune, see how the guitar accepts them, then adjust as needed? Secondly, what are the odds I will need to get a new nut – meaning one designed to accept Medium strings? Or would one expect most nuts to accept Mediums? The strings I’ve purchased are Elixir Mediums .013 - .056 80/20. Thanks in advance for any input. Ward

Wow that'll get some opinions. :) I guess it really comes down to sounds and feels good to your fingers and ears . I have a Luther here NC that feels D'addario's are best because they stay stable in tone and what not just made better I guess is the point but don't quote me ! ...