Gibson Brands Forums

Trying to choose between a 50th anniversary 1962 Sheraton & a Pelham Blue ES-355

Joe D.

Good evening, everyone. This is my first time posting in the forums here. It's great to have a place to talk about guitars, especially Gibsons and Epiphones.

Tonight, I'm coming to you guys in search of advice. I would like to purchase a semi-hollow body guitar and I have my choices down to two : A Pelham Blue Epiphone ES-355 or an Epiphone 50th Anniversary 1962 Sheraton E212T.

Here are a few of my concerns/comments about both and a bit of info about what I'm looking for :

- Price-wise, the guitars fall in the same line for me. If I buy the 355, I will be buying a case with it. I understand the Sheraton comes with a hardshell case. The case for the 355 will likely even the price up.

- While the Sheraton is a beautiful guitar in its' own right, I have always loved Pelham Blue.

- I have concerns of the electronics in the 355 compared to the ones in the Sheraton. GIbson USA pickups are tough to beat, with all due respect to the product that Epiphone produces.

- I have been told the build quality of the Sheraton is superior than that of the 355. That's not to say the build quality on the 355 isn't excellent - just passing along what some folks I've spoken to about these two instruments have told me.

- Tone-wise, I am going for something that will be very versatile, but will also be distinctly different than what I already have. I currently have a Gibson LPJ Les Paul, a Gibson SG, a Strat, and a Telecaster. I play every genre of music I possible can. It's important to me that I become as versatile as possible. Amp-wise, I play into a 1965 Fender Deluxe Reverb Reissue. My pedalboard is various Wampler and TC Electronic stuff.

- The large size of the 355, while a drawback for some, is part of the instrument's appeal to me. I am not sure how its' size relates to the 1962 Sheraton. I have only played the contemporary Sheraton.