Gibson Brands Forums

J-200 Pickguard Placement

Sitedrifter

Hey all,

I am new to Gibson and will be buying a J200 model in the very near future. It seems to me the pickguard placement issue has been brought up before but I do not see anyone from Gibson responding to the issue. I have noticed the pickguard placement on J200s (same model) vary from being right on the sound hole edge to almost 1/2" away from the sound hole edge. I thought jigs are used to place the pickguard yet the variation shows me it is hand done and pretty much without regard to the placement the designer of the guitar wanted. Something as simple as pickguard placement variations across the same exact model give me a bit of concern about QC in other areas of the guitar far more critical then the pickguard. Basically I don't want to shell out thousands and it be a crap shoot with QC.

I know this issue is probably been beat to death but I would love to hear thoughts on this especially what Gibson says if anyone spoke to them or if they posted on the forum. I did email them and am awaiting for a response to my query.

Thanks

Mark

We did a poll a while back...only less than 2% like the pick guard to cover the rosette....lol......but that's where most of them wind up.....

http://forum.gibson.com/index.php?/topic/100907-lets-end-this-debate-about-pickguard-location/page__p__1364642__fromsearch__1#entry1364642

Good information showing what people prefer and I wonder why Gibson has not listened. But, I have no issue if the guard covers part of the rosette but what bothers me is the placement in regards to the sound hole. They seem to be place where ever the tech feels like it as opposed to a specific place each time.