Gibson Brands Forums

Late night inspiration

duluthdan

Tossing and turning for hours, and had a new song flash into my head, had to get up and capture it before it went poof. Totally rough state, but a start. Now it needs polish, maybe a bridge and chorus? I'm not good at choruses. Good to always have the J45 at the ready.

Dan I like the words... Great Divide has so much imagery attached. I do think you need a chorus to break it up. A bridge might be icing too, but I think this song is great.

Thanks for sharing man.

By the way your shirt is skin colored, and I was thinking at first, "dude close the robe... no wardrobe malfunctions ya hear?"

Ha! Well, that was a first. I don't think I've ever seen anyone do a guitar video in a robe before (I dunno, maybe Elvis in his later Big Beltbuckle days). Your vid does capture that middle of the night gotta come downstairs & get this song out of my head feeling. Very nice.

Now; your roughed-out song could take Sal's idea of people contributing their version of a standard to a whole new place: that is, you've done the verse, maybe someone else can bring another verse, the chorus, or a bridge...

Ha that was a lot of fun...an insight into the writing process.Love the immediacy of something like that. Good song.Memorable melody.

I'm humming it now and I've already got a chorus in my head too.Please follow up and do a chorus.

Like the Elvis in the Big BeltBuckle imagery that 62 conjured up.Dressing gowns are the new leather pants for guitar pluckers [thumbup].

Great man cave. Great tune. Don't stop now. Can't wait to hear the final version