Gibson Brands Forums

Anything above the 12th fret sounds too...high?

CKiR

Hi,

Not sure if this is the right place to post but here goes.

Alright, so I'll admit right now I really don't know much about guitars/amps etc. I recently got an Epiphone Les Paul Standard and a Vox Valvetronix VT20+. Now I have been playing guitar for about 5 years, acoustic though. Whenever I try to play anything above the 12th fret it comes out sounding high, and if I play any solos up there they don't sound right at all. Is it the amp settings, strings, pickup settings? I know I'm probably just being an idiot here, but no matter what I do I can't "fix" it.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

That's probably intonation.. Meaning that the guitar should stay in tune all the way up the fretboard..

You need to turn the little screws on the bridge (assuming you have a Tune O Matic).. They are there for exactly that sort of fine adjustment... If you play one open string and then that same string at the 12th fret, they should both be in tune).

Should sort of look something like this (depending on how your bridge has been set up).

LPST6VSCH1-Features-Bridge_zps01cb01fe.jpg

Yes, intonation. Google something like how to set up guitar intonation and you'll find lots of instructions. It's easy enough, you'll just need a screwdriver to fit the saddle screws, and a tuner is handy but not essential.

CKIR,

"Welcome" to the forum and Congrats on your new guitar!

Rabs and Vomer are starting you off in the right direction.

Still, as long as we're on the subject,

Are you still using the original strings?

Have you done or had someone do a complete setup? (or at least check the specs)

If you are used to acoustic guitars and your LP's strings are set high you may not even realize it.

It could cause tuning problems as well.

Just a couple more thoughts,

Willy

CKIR,

"Welcome" to the forum and Congrats on your new guitar!

Rabs and Vomer are starting you off in the right direction.