Gibson Brands Forums

recording guitar with mic , mixing settings

blindboygrunt

I posted an example of what me and the j45 sound like with my new toy ,a USB interface, at the weekend just past. Little thing works well and is a lot of fun . the piezo I find ,well, piezoish , so I have ordered a cable to enable (im a poet) me to do more but with the guitar miked.

Just wondering, for a headstart, what effects make a nice guitar sound more nice. Maybe no effects should be the answer? I'm just sitting in a dining room so just a little tweaking to help with warmth in the guitar sound.... what do you guys add in the mix?

I'm a total beginner at these DAW programmes.

A vote here for no reverb/processing. Change or modify the room, or play into something; acoustical, a corner.. experiment a bit. The naturally intimate sound of the J-45 is one of its more endearing qualities. Plus, we' re all fans of the acoustic sound here- give it to us straight up. In giving your initial recording a re-listen... what's not to like? Yes, looking forward to hearing v2 with a nice mic. No reverb is also more fitting the song, too.

Flatbaroque has a nice sounding room he records in. Just a nice natural reverb sound. It's enjoyable to picture the room where the song was recorded. Not so much with the effects chain.

I find the mic makes a big difference. I am someone who likes it as simple as possible. I have always been using an Apogee MiC, and recently got a Blue Yeti. I find that the Yeti can't touch the quality of the MiC. I was surprised at the difference. Maybe I just have to learn how to use it more, but right now I am thinking of just selling it. I don't want to "learn more" about that side of the hobby. At least not now.

Of course, its even better (and more complicated) to get those real non-USB acoustic mics like those used by Big Thumb, and use an interface into a computer, but for my simple needs I have found the Apogee Mic is quite good.