Gibson Brands Forums

Peavey Classic 50

Super24

My local guitar shop has a used Peavey Classic 50 that has caught my eye. This thing looks brand new and is much cheaper than new. I don't really need 50 watts but it looks like a deal. Does anybody care to comment on this amp?

I really had my eye on a variable wattage amp like the Mesa Express. At this point I'm a basement musician and was thinking 50 watts may be too much for home use.

Is that the same as the Classic VTX? I think that's what I've got. Solid state preamp, 2 -6L6s, 2-12"s, right? Mine is an '88 and I've owned it since '97. Swapped a trashed Twin for it. I believe it'll run forever and is worth about $200 so when it dies it'll go over the dump. Sounds great though.

Unless you're planning on playing with other musicians any time in the foreseeable future, I think 50 watts is going to be total overkill. You didn't mention what sort of sound you're going for but, as an apartment dweller who owns a 5w Fender and a 15w Fender for home use, I can safely say that both are too loud to crank up when you have a neighbor on the other side of your living room wall. I mostly use the 5w amp along with a pedal for a dirty tone and the 15w amp... well, it mostly sits in a closet.

Unless you're planning on playing with other musicians any time in the foreseeable future' date=' I think 50 watts is going to be total overkill. You didn't mention what sort of sound you're going for but, as an apartment dweller who owns a 5w Fender and a 15w Fender for home use, I can safely say that both are too loud to crank up when you have a neighbor on the other side of your living room wall. I mostly use the 5w amp along with a pedal for a dirty tone and the 15w amp... well, it mostly sits in a closet.

[/quote']