Gibson Brands Forums

Evolution of learning a song

uncle fester

Just rambling, but was playing Scuttlebuttin' by SRV, and feel I got it to the next level which got me into the stages of learning a song

1. learn the basic song start to finish, guitar and singing
  2. practice practice practice till it sounds good at low / acoustic volume
  3. amplify, identify the bugs and smooth out again
  4. record it, listen back, identify the rest of the messy stuff and smooth out
  5. record it again and sit back satisfied that I am performance ready.

I find some songs I can go through the process in a couple weeks, but then something like scuttle buttin' i've been working on for 4 years - but feel I reached the point to where it's good amplified, with the next step to record it an listen back.  This step scares me because the recording never sounds as good as I do in my head...  and so it goes.  Might be another year or two before I'm ready to perform, but I see progress...

Anybody else follow any processes to learn a song?

If you are doing SRV most of the load is on you, not your average Blues player. Getting it down will take a lot of familiarity with SRV technique. I have been learning Eddies "Ain't Talkin Bout Love" since it came out and still finding things I missed.. Good luck... You might enjoy this Yana clip as her hands are visible through the whole song...

I'm not sure how accurate she is, but it sounds like she on the right track.. 

Edited by mihcmac
  • Like 1

2 hours ago, mihcmac said:

If you are doing SRV most of the load is on you, not your average Blues player. Getting it down will take a lot of familiarity with SRV technique. I have been learning Eddies "Ain't Talkin Bout Love" since it came out and still finding things I missed.. Good luck... You might enjoy this Yana clip as her hands are visible through the whole song...

I'm not sure how accurate she is, but it sounds like she on the right track..