Gibson Brands Forums

Looking for a blues sound

Guitar57

Hi all, I just started learning guitar on an acoustic but decided to get an electric guitar too.  I got a Les Paul Classic and Im trying to make out how to select the

pickup and volume and tone to make it sound a bit bluesey

Has the two  pickups and those push pull knobs for volume and tone.

Any help would be great. 

Steve 

Actually in watching that vid again. Joe misses one big factor in all of that. The amp settings..

If you have too much distortion going on it wont work like it does in the video. What you have to do is get it so that at full volume and tone on the guitar, turn the gain up until you are just getting that break up sound (till it starts distorting)...  Then you can use the volume controls to take that gain out and clean the sound up (if you see what I mean)..  Takes some time to fiddle about with the amp settings and learn this stuff.

• Like 1

The volume and tone controls on your guitar are passive; so when they are full up (on 10) the pickup(s) are outputting all they've got.   Turning volume down decreases output, rolling back tone decreases treble.  That's all they do, cut tone or volume.  Very obvious but important to understand.

With those controls full up on the guitar, set your amp tone controls to about mid-way (5 out of 10) to start with.  If you are using a headphone amp the same thing basically applies. Then bring the amp volume up until it is at a good (but sensible for your living space) clean level, without any distortion.  Now you can control the volume of the amp with the guitar volume controls.  If the amp has reverb, select the spring reverb setting and start with it on 3 (or 'low') so you get a slight 'halo' or reverberation around the notes or chords you play.