Gibson Brands Forums

ES 335 Newbie

jheath

Hey all,  hope you don't mind newb questions.  I have a lot of experience with Gibson acoustics, both Montana models and older stuff, currently have a modern J-100 and a '48 J45.  I don't play much electric, once every couple of weeks but have really always wanted an ES-335.  My only current electric is a modern US Tele.   I've played a couple ES models but I honestly have no idea what to look for, what years are good / bad, etc.  or anything to stay away from.  I play mostly rhythm with my 5 piece band when I do, no effects or anything, straight into a 50w tube combo. 

So in short, what would you recommend for an acoustic player that only plays electric occasionally and doesn't want to spend a fortune but does want a domestically made ES?   There are a few available for resale around me, what appear to be Memphis built recent examples for about 70% of the cost of a brand new one, 10 years old kind of thing but in great shape.  Safe bet?  

2 minutes ago, jheath said:

Hey all,  hope you don't mind newb questions.  I have a lot of experience with Gibson acoustics, both Montana models and older stuff, currently have a modern J-100 and a '48 J45.  I don't play much electric, once every couple of weeks but have really always wanted an ES-335.  My only current electric is a modern US Tele.   I've played a couple ES models but I honestly have no idea what to look for, what years are good / bad, etc.  or anything to stay away from.  I play mostly rhythm with my 5 piece band when I do, no effects or anything, straight into a 50w tube combo. 

So in short, what would you recommend for an acoustic player that only plays electric occasionally and doesn't want to spend a fortune but does want a domestically made ES?   There are a few available for resale around me, what appear to be Memphis built recent examples for about 70% of the cost of a brand new one, 10 years old kind of thing but in great shape.  Safe bet?