Gibson Brands Forums

Take a look at this black les paul supreme.. is it a fake?

Belva

Finally one black les paul supreme showed up on the bay.

Given the fact there are a ton of fakeblack les paul supremes, and an handful of real black les paul supremes on the market, I ask your help.

I see the serial number painted not just pressed in... could this be a fake?

http://cgi.ebay.com/Gibson-Les-Paul-Supreme_W0QQitemZ230391489712QQcmdZViewItemQQptZGuitar?hash=item35a46724b0

I asked the dude for other more detailed pics but no answer so far.

Do let me know guys.

Looks pretty good from what I can tell, but I am new at this. My '03 LP Elegant serial is inked on also. Custom Shop has done this for a while from what I can tell. Wonder if any paperwork comes with the thing? Run the serial past Gibson, get a look at it up close if you can and play the thing!

They had Chambered Mahogany Body in 2002?

Yes certain models were constructed differently like Cloud9 or Supreme. Some had figured backs, no back plate, and a large jack plate covering the access where they installed the pots and switch.

Thx for oyur constant help.

Yes guitarjunky that doesn't have much sense.

It doesn't have much sense that in one pic the number is painted, and in the other isn't.

It doesn't make much sense that he doesn't show me a coa, it's 3 times i ask him.

BUT: I'd really like it to be a real gibson. As black supremes are very rare. I mean I'm really waiting on a good one.

Do let me know what you think guys. take care.

Looks legit to me. Just looks like he photoslopped the number out on the close up! common on the bay to avoid conterfitiing maybe? not sure, but it looks legit. He may not have the certificate! It does not say anywhere that it has one. If a black one is what you want, then I would go for it. Life is too short to have to wait for what you want. We all know black guitars sound and play the best ;-)