Gibson Brands Forums

Help me gig acoustically.

Nick Beach

I've been recording some acoustic tracks, and I've played a couple basements with my acoustic. I think late this summer I'm going to try and do an acoustic tour. I'm not new to touring but I'm new to doing acoustic shows. I've only played acoustic live on tour once and that was just running direct into front of house. But I know a lot of guys bring amps, I would like to get one just to ease my worries of venues not having the right gear. But I don't know where to start with getting one. I've even heard some guys use effects?

So what's a good amp to start with? Any good advice to give?

All help is much appreciated.

Hi Shred,

I have an AER Domino and it is a really excellent acoustic amp. First off if I was buying another I would go for the AER compact 60. While the Domino is great and has a really excellent range of features and effects you don't need most of them and the compact 60 is a bit smaller and easier to travel with.

That said I rarely (if ever these days) use it for gigs. I usually DI my guitar into the PA, so you might want to think about whether you really need an amplifier. Of course as you say it depends very much what gear the venue has. If you need to go down the amplifier route you won't be disappointed with an AER acoustic amplifier.

Another usueful thing is a feedback buster. Depending on what system you use to amplify your acoustic(s). On a couple of guitars I have L R Baggs M1 active pickups. With them feedback is not a problem. With other guitars I have one with a headway transducer which sounds very good but has a tendency to feedback, so I use the backbuster on that one. They don't cost much and it's well worth keeping one in your guitar case.

Hope that helps.