Gibson Brands Forums

Which model should I get?

rachelharrington

I am a professional musician and am on the market for a new (used) guitar. I'm a Gibson girl through and through, and I know I want another Gibson, but I'm having a heck of time finding solid information about the various models and the real differences between them.

I probably won't buy a brand new guitar, just because I am loathe to enter American Music or Best Buy or Guitar Center - feels like walking into a used car lot with sales people that are nice but aren't actually helpful, and I also don't trust them to take proper care of an instrument while in their custody. I sure wish Gibson made their guitars available to small, locally owned, reputable dealers.

Anyhow - here's what I want: 1 11/16 nut width, good access to 14 frets (without a cutaway though), and I want the shorter scale I think (24 odd inches). Probably want maple or mahogany; rosewood doesn't usually have the spark I want in fingerpicking. I also don't want a blonde; anything -burst will do. Vintage or similar appointments; at least nothing gold. And I use the Martin Thinline pickup so the saddle has got be able to accommodate that.

Right now, my daily driver in an old Epi Texan but I'm kinda thinking about getting something with a smaller body, although don't want to sacrifice low end for it. I confess, I've been playing my boyfriend's Taylor (barf) backpacker a lot lately and been really intrigued by the fingerpicking tone. Once you let the strings get good and dead, you could mistake for a small, vintage Gibby.

Anyhow - help me out - what models should I be looking at? Ideally under $3000 - nothing too precious - I tour a lot, lots of flights, and don't want to be unduly worried about her.

Thanks in advance!

Rachel

www.rachelharrington.net