Gibson Brands Forums

Bass help

Silenced Fred

Okay, so I am looking to get a bass rig together on the cheap. This would be for gigging small shows, nothing over 50 people probably.

Good cheap bass, and a reliable amplifier that is at a usable wattage range (Not 10 watts, not 1000)

Whatever recommendations, and please give approximated cost. I would buy used, and like to keep it under 500.

Thanks guys, and sorry if I ask too many questions. I have no knowledge of basses such as good models, etc

I'd recommend a used Mexican Fender bass. I'm sure you could find one for $250 -$400 easily on craigslist.

I'd also recommend a used Fender solid state bass amp. IMO solid state is just fine for bass and you could find a nice big amp that will be loud enough and sound good for like $100 -$200.

I'd recommend a used Mexican Fender bass. I'm sure you could find one for $250 -$400 easily on craigslist.

I'd also recommend a used Fender solid state bass amp. IMO solid state is just fine for bass and you could find a nice big amp that will be loud enough and sound good for like $100 -$200.

I was gonna get solid state, but not sure of manufacturer... But the question is: which bass? j or p?

Personally I prefer the Jazz bass.

The Mexican ones are good. Very solid. Just make sure the frets are in good shape and all that good stuff.

I haven't really played on basses that much, I played a Schecter I liked, but it was around 700...

I'll check em out. Thanks man

This is the only bass I own, and OLP (officially licenced product by Ernie Ball) I think I paid $350 for it brand new 5 years ago. I use it mainly for recording basslines on my pc and it does me good. Believe it's discontinued, but u could get one real cheap on Craig's or Ebay. I let a kid from the youth church band use it and it sounded good. I believe the reviews are pretty decent on it too. Amp, I don't have one so can't help u there, bro. Hope you get what you need.

schecstratbass-3.jpg